The Class of 2012: John Fox announces All Star teams

The Class of 2012: John Fox announces All Star teams


An ensemble cast of the top 26 players in the men’s National Water Polo League (NWPL) have been selected for 2012 All Star game, which will be held at the AIS in Canberra on Saturday, April 14.

The All-Star concept, which divides the 12 National League clubs into two divisions (North & South), sees the best players from the 2012 season go head to head in this action packed evening of elite water polo.

The fixture will aim to showcase not just the best players from Australia but from the world, with internationals’ Thomas Bruder and Scott Carpenter joining the 15 Aussie Shark Olympic hopefuls on show.

The Brisbane Barracudas and the Victorian Tigers dominate the list of players selected with 11 nominations between them, while the remaining players have been drafted from the Drummoyne Devils, UNSW Wests Magpies, Balmain Tigers, Fremantle Mariners, Hunter Hurricanes, UWA Torpedoes and Sydney University.

Aussie Sharks head coach John Fox said he was excited about the 2012 edition of the All Star game and believed the concept was a great way in providing the leading local based players an international standard game.

“This year is a quality international field with almost all our national players in action, and if you add the two imports that we have, then the standard becomes top shelf,” Fox said.

“This is important to our players as it is essential that they continue to play at the top level and in front of the national coaches heading into the Olympics in a couple of months’ time.

“Last the All Star game was a roaring success and we were eager to put it on again and showcase to the wider community what water polo can offer.

“The game is also played during the 18 & under national championships so it gives our next generation of Aussie Sharks and Aussie Stingers a chance to experience a top level match.”

In addition to the 26 players that have been selected, the national coaching panel also came together to elect the two best referees for the year, with Daniel Flahive and Andrew Carney getting the nod.

The women's game starts at 4.30pm followed by the men's at 6.30pm.

North: Samuele Avallone (Drummoyne Devils), Mitch Baird (Hunter Hurricanes), Richie Campbell (UNSW Wests Magpies), James Clark (Balmain Tigers), Johnno Cotterill (UNSW Wests Magpies), Joel Dennerley (UNSW Wests Magpies), James ‘BJ’ Howden (Brisbane Barracudas) Rhys Howden (Brisbane Barracudas), Anthony Martin (Brisbane Barracudas) Tyler Martin (Drummoyne Devils), Billy Miller (Brisbane Barracudas), Gavin Woods (Balmain Tigers), Dan Young (Brisbane Barracudas)

Coaches: Chris Wybrow (NSWIS), Simon Daley (QAS)

South: Jamie Beadsworth (Fremantle Mariners), Thomas Bruder (Victorian Tigers, SVK), Scott Carpenter (Victorian Tigers, ENG), Tim Cleland (Fremantle Mariners), Blake Edwards (Victorian Tigers), Trent Franklin (Sydney University), Daniel Lawrence (Fremantle Mariners), Matt Martin (Victorian Tigers), Sam McGregor (Victorian Tigers), Luke Quinlivan (UWA), Joel Swift (Fremantle Mariners), Thomas Whalan (Sydney University), Carl Zvekan (Victorian Tigers).

Coaches: Paul Oberman (WAIS), Dalibor Maslan (VIS)

Referees: Danny Flahive, Andrew Carney