2012 Hall of Fame & Awards dinner

From left: Hall of Fame Inductees Leon Weigard, Allan Charleston, Peter Bennett

2012 Hall of Fame & Awards dinner


Australian Water Polo Inc. held its fourth annual Hall of Fame and Awards dinner last night with some of the sports most regarded names on show to celebrate this year's recipients.

Headlining the evening was the introduction of three new members into the AWPI Hall of Fame, Leon Weigard OAM, Allan Charleston and Peter Bennett.

Weigard, who doubled as the host for the night, was recognised for his contribution to Australian and Victorian Water Polo and for his achievements as a double Olympian in 1964 and 1972.

Weigard was privileged to receive the honour and was grateful for being inducted alongside two of the greats of the sport in Charleston and Bennett.

Charleston and Bennett, who were members of the Australian team during the 1950’s, were also recognised for their two Olympic appearance and their key contributions in the development of water polo in Western Australia and Victoria respectively.

Aussie Sharks’ London bound keeper Joel Dennerley took out the men’s player of the year award after a stellar season in America which saw him claim a record fourth straight title with USC. Dennerley also produced brilliant performances with the national team at the FINA World Championships and Water Polo Pan Pacs.

Rowie Webster claimed the women’s gold award for being Australia’s most consistent player in 2011 and playing a key role for the Aussie Stingers in their gold medal win at the Pan Pacs in Melbourne.

Joining them were Australian junior stars Aaron Younger and Hannah Buckling, who both made transitions into the senior men's and women's national teams up in the past 12 months.

Brisbane Barracudas star Jamie-Lee Lewis took out the player with a disability category for her contribution not just in the pool but as a coach and referee, while Aussie Stingers’ Beijing bronze medal hero Rebecca Rippon received a special recognition for her stellar international career spanning 12 years.

Also receiving awards were Peter Szilagyi as coach of the year and Daniel Flahive as referee of the year.

Hall of Fame Inductees

Leon Wiegard OAM

Allan Charleston

Peter Bennett

Award Winners

Male Player of the Year: Joel Dennerley

Female Player of ther Year: Rowie Webster

Junior Male Player of the Year: Aaron Younger (overseas)

Junior Female Player of the Year: Hannah Buckling

Coach of the Year: Peter Szilagyi

Player with a Disability: Jamie-Lee Lewis

Referee of the Year: Daniel Flahive

Club of the Year: Melville (received by David Neesham)

Volunteer of the Year: Joel Sangster

Recognition of Representation

Rebecca Rippon


         Joel Dennerley                           Rowie Webster                       Rebecca Rippon                      Jamie-Lee Lewis


Australian Water Polo Inc. is proud to announce its fourth Hall of Fame dinner incorporating Volunteer & Player awards. 

Download the Dinner booking form here

The Australian Water Polo 2011 Awards aim to recognise the efforts of Australian water polo players, coaches, referees, clubs and administrators during the calendar year 2011. This will incorporate the Australian Water Polo Hall of Fame.

The dinner will be held Saturday 28 April 2012, Sydney Olympic Park Novotel.

2011 Awards Nomination form

All winners of the 2011 Awards will be announced and presented with their Awards at a gala night to be held Saturday 28 April 2012 to coincide with the 2012 National Water Polo League Finals Series in Sydney.



  • Male Player of the Year (nominated by National Coaches panel)
  • Female Player of the Year (nominated by National Coaches panel)       
  • Coach of the Year (nominated by National Coaches panel)
  • Club of the Year (nominations called for)
  • Referee of the Year (nominated by Referees Commission)


  • Volunteer of the Year (nominations called for)
  • Junior Male Player of the Year (nominated by National Coaches panel)
  • Junior Female Player of the Year (nominated by National Coaches panel)
  • Player of the Year (for a player with a disability) (nominated by National Coaches panel)

Australian Water Polo Inc. Hall of Fame - new members to be inducted in 2012 by Australian Water Polo. The Australian Water Polo Board will endorse the inductees.

Nominations: All affiliated State Associations, associations, clubs and members may submit nominations for the 2011 Australian Water Polo volunteer and club of the year awards.

If no nominations are forthcoming for a category, the Australian Water Polo Awards Committee may make a list of nominations.


All nominations and inquiries are to be directed to:

Cheryl Ritchie
Australian Water Polo Inc.
PO Box 580

Ph: (02) 9763 0600

E-mail: cheryl.ritchie@waterpoloaustralia.com.au