Target squads for 2014 & 2015 Jnr World Championships announced

Sunshine Coast celebrate a victory on the weekend. A handful of their players have now been selected for World Junior C'Ship target squads (image courtesy Pearse Photography)

Target squads for 2014 & 2015 Jnr World Championships announced


Girls Born '96 squad announced

A total of 26 girls from across Australia have been selected in a Born '96 target squad for the 2014 World Junior Championships.

The team was selected on recent performances at the 2011 16 & Under National Club Championships as well as a training camp in Melbourne and is currently being prepared for the Youth Pan Pacifics in New Zealand next June and July.

Jack Lusic has been appointed coach of the group and believes there is a lot of talent to be harnessed over the next couple of years.

"The recent camp between October 3 and October 9 was very pleasing. Whilst the girls were playing a year above their age group, I have no doubt, that quite a few could have been selected, for the born '95 National team," Lusic said.

"The immediate focus will be the tournament in Auckland, New Zealand next year. The girls will be two years younger than their rivals and for many of the girls this will be their first real exposure to international competition, so the main purpose will be to help them formulate and understand the meaning of teamwork, trust and bonding."

Small camps will be held in every state between January and May 2012 in an attempt to ready them for the future and Lusic is confident some of the girls will go onto bigger and better things.

"At junior level, Australia has a great track record, and hopefully with these girls we can go one or maybe two better than our current Under 20's bronze medallists."

Born '96 target squad for 2014 World Juniors C'Ships

Octavia Bellekens (QLD, 97) Elise Gaskell (NSW, 96) Emma Whaling (NSW, 96) Emily Grellman (NSW, 96), Aoife Scales (QLD, 96) Christabel Hill Smith (QLD, 96) Georgia Hole (QLD, 96) Ellodie Ruffin (QLD, 96) Ashleigh Roberts (QLD, 97) Sally Coburn (QLD, 96) Madeleine Steere (VIC, 96)   Chelsea Allen (SA, 96) Olivia MacKell (WA, 96) Sopie Stockwell (WA, 96) Kate Abbey-Wardle (WA, 96) Monique Rebelo (WA, 96) Caityn Roye (NSW 96) Kaitlin Laycock (NSW, 96) Samantha Stanton (NSW, 96) Julia Barton (NSW, 96) Georgia McConville (NSW, 96) Bronte Halligan (NSW, 96) Kristy Donkin (NSW, 96) Paige Wiseman (NSW, 96) Amy Ridge (NSW, 96) Tori Morrissey (NSW, 96) 

Both boys' squads announced

In a further sign of Australia's great ability to produce some of the world's best young boys water polo players, selectors Chris Wybrow and Dalibor Maslan have announced target squads for the 2014 18 & Under World Junior Championships and 2015 20 & Under World Junior Championships.

Fresh off their 16 & Under National Club Championship triumph on the weekend, Melville Sharks has eight representatives in both squads including tournament MVP William Mackay and goalkeeper of the series Harry Mayer. Melville Saints added to the club's dominance with two more players being chosen.

The two squads are split in age with 21 players selected for the born 1995 squad and 22 players picked for the 1996 group.

The boys will be hoping to contiune the promising progression of Australia's juniors in the next couple of years after the National Junior team recently came fourth at 2011 World Junior Championships in Greece.

Coaches and managers have not yet been appointed for these squads. Once they have been announced they will make contact with the players selected.

Born '96 target squad for 2014 World Junior C'Ships

Will Cotterill (Sydney University, NSW) Nick Dempsey (Ovens & Murray, NSW/Vic) Rowan Farrell (Drummoyne, NSW) Tom Freeman (Cronulla, NSW)
Noah Harron (KFC Breakers, QLD) Josh Hayes (Hunter Hurricanes, NSW) Liam Johns (Sunshine Coast, QLD) Hunor Kicsi (UNSW Wests, NSW) Jake Leavy (Melville, WA) Jai McNamara (Central Coast, NSW) Max Mellor (Melbourne Collegians, Vic) Luke Pavillard (Melville, WA) Lucas Pensini (Melville, WA) Chris Perrott (Melbourne Collegians, Vic) Lach Pethick (UWA, WA) Andre Rebelo (Melville, WA) Matthew Singer (KFC Breakers, QLD) James Smith (Drummoyne, NSW) Ivan Thomas (Melville, WA) Drew Verboon (Melville, WA) Keegan Wicken (Sydney University, NSW) Josh Zekulich (UWA, WA).

Born '95 target squad for 2015 World Junior C'Ships

Michael Altieri (Melville, WA), Chris Boyko (Hunter, NSW) Nick Brooks (Cronulla, NSW) Sam Cocokios (Cronulla, NSW) Tom Cunningham (Dolphins, WA) Jesse Deloraine (Hunter, NSW) Lachlan Edwards (Melbourne Collegians, Vic) Dan Hall (South Australia, SA) Nick Hawthorne (Central Coast, NSW), Dylan Holden (Cronulla, NSW) Anthony Hrysanthos (Sydney University, NSW) Zac Hudson (Brisbane Barracudas, QLD) Jordon Kremers-Taylor (Melville, WA) Harry Mayer (Melville, WA) Jake McCarthy (Central Coast, NSW) Tom McJannett (Sydney University, NSW) William  Mackay (Melville, WA) Matt Osmond (UWA, WA) Fraser Smith (UWA, WA) Callum Smith (Brisbane Barracudas, QLD) Milan Stojkovic (Melbourne Collegians, Vic)